[rt-users] rt-users Digest, Vol 113, Issue 20

Joe Kirby kirby at umbc.edu
Wed Aug 14 12:09:52 EDT 2013


Thank You! and will do with replies

Joe

Joe Kirby ,  Assistant Vice President, Business Systems
Division of Information Technology (DoIT) 
Support Response -   http://www.umbc.edu/doit 
Administration 627
Office - 410-455-3020 
Email - kirby at umbc.edu

On Aug 14, 2013, at 12:00 PM, rt-users-request at lists.bestpractical.com wrote:

> Send rt-users mailing list submissions to
> 	rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> 
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
> 	http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
> 	rt-users-request at lists.bestpractical.com
> 
> You can reach the person managing the list at
> 	rt-users-owner at lists.bestpractical.com
> 
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of rt-users digest..."
> 
> 
> Today's Topics:
> 
>   1. Re: Modify CF dropdown list from external DB based off of
>      another CFs value (Joe Harris)
>   2. Re: MySQL issue - Windows vs. Linux - Table name
>      (Cena, Stephen (ext. 300))
>   3. Re: RT-at-a-Glance Saved Searches not showing RT System
>      searches (Kevin Falcone)
>   4. Re: sendmailpipe returns EX_TEMPFAIL (Kevin Falcone)
>   5. Re: Re-send a previously attached attachment? (Kevin Falcone)
>   6. Re: sendmailpipe returns EX_TEMPFAIL (Thomas Sibley)
>   7. Groups in LDAP (Donny Brooks)
>   8. RT4 and GIT; RT4 and Eclipse (Lisa Tomalty)
> 
> 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
> 
> Message: 1
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 07:23:23 -0400
> From: Joe Harris <drey111 at gmail.com>
> To: "scott.dalzell" <scott.dalzell at aveva.com>
> Cc: "rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com"
> 	<rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com>
> Subject: Re: [rt-users] Modify CF dropdown list from external DB based
> 	off of another CFs value
> Message-ID:
> 	<CABoWt8TU411HZLZU2BJQW09CG2D_bF57oE_ESjjC-Lk_7msyEA at mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
> 
> I had a similar need.  But instead of connecting to an external database
> from within RT, I put together 2 scripts to check for content change and
> dump and load my custom fields in cron.  In my case, I was pulling time
> sheet codes which are:
> client_project and task_code.  Each client_project has specific task_codes
> so task_codes is dependent on client_project.  Mine is probably way more
> complicated than you need and could be done easier in perl.  I'm a bash man
> at heart so here is my method.  They could be run from one script as long
> as the server has access to get to both databases.  Since custom fields are
> added to transactions as the actual field values (and not relational by
> id's) this was the best way foe me to get this done.  During the day if the
> finance department adds or removes codes, within an hour the RT system is
> updated.  Also in my case, client_project and task_code are each
> concatenated from 4 fields in my original search (fields 1 and 2 make up
> client_project and fields 3 and 4 make up task_code). Hope this helps in
> some way and apologies for the long message...
> 
> The first script is run on the external server and creates a load file.
> This script is run every hour between 8am and 5pm from cron.
> 
> #!/bin/bash
> NEWFILE=/tmp/codes.txt
> OLDFILE=/tmp/codes.last
> /bin/mv $NEWFILE $OLDFILE
> /usr/bin/psql -A -t -c "select field1,field2 from table where criteria like
> 'your_criteria' -U postgres_user databasename >$NEWFILE
> if /usr/bin/diff $NEWFILE $OLDFILE >/dev/null ; then
> echo "NoChanges" >/tmp/codes.status
> else
> echo "Changes" >/tmp/codes.status
> fi
> 
> Then on another server, I look at the codes.status file and check for
> changes.  If there are, I pull over the file and dump and load the
> customfieldvalues table where the customfield is in my case 1 and 2.  This
> script is run 5 minutes after the other one.
> 
> #!/bin/bash
> HOME=/path/to/scripts
> STATUSFILE=/tmp/codes.status
> LOADFILE=/tmp/codes.txt
> LASTFILE=/tmp/codes.txt
> LOGFILE=$HOME/codes.log
> PGSERVER=RT_PGSERVERNAME_REDACTED
> PGUSER=RT_USER_REDACTED
> PGDB=RT_DBNAME_REDACTED
> TODAY=`date +%Y-%m-%d-%H:%M:%S`
> echo "Starting script at $TODAY"
> # Start logging
> exec > >(tee $LOGFILE)
> exec 2>&1
> 
> #Fetch status file
> scp root at EXT_SERVERNAME_REDACTED:$STATUSFILE /tmp/
> STATUS=`cat $STATUSFILE`
> echo $STATUS > $LOGFILE
> if [ $STATUS == "Changes" ] ; then
> echo "Making Changes">> $LOGFILE
> 
> # Fetch update file
> scp root at EXT_SERVERNAME_REDACTED:$LOADFILE /tmp/
> 
> # Clean up previous sql load files and remove the old custom fields
> rm -f $HOME/client_project.*
> rm -f $HOME/task_code.*
> rm -f $HOME/sequence.tmp
> mv $HOME/client_project_backup $HOME/client_project_backup-$TODAY
> psql -A -t -c "select * from customfieldvalues where customfield='1'" -h
> $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB >>$HOME/client_project_backup
> psql -A -t -c "select * from customfieldvalues where customfield='2'" -h
> $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB >>$HOME/task_code_backup
> psql -A -c "delete from customfieldvalues where customfield='1'" -h
> $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB
> psql -A -c "delete from customfieldvalues where customfield='2'" -h
> $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB
> # Add a placeholder to notify users that update is taking place
> psql -A -c "insert into customfieldvalues
> (customfield,name,creator,created) values ('1','Tasks are being updated.
> Refresh in 2-5 minutes','22',now())" -h $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB
> 
> # Start numbering
> echo "5" >$HOME/sequence.tmp
> 
> # Parse through load file and capture variables to populate Client/Project
> field
> OIFS=$IFS
> IFS='
> '
> for m in `cat $LOADFILE`
> do
> CLIENT=`echo $m|cut -d"|" -f1`
> PROJECT=`echo $m|cut -d"|" -f2`
> CLIENTPROJECT="${CLIENT}[${PROJECT}]"
> echo "$CLIENTPROJECT" >>$HOME/client_project.tmp
> done
> 
> # Get Unique Client Project Codes to load to database
> cat $HOME/client_project.tmp |sort -u >> $HOME/client_project.txt
> OIFS=$IFS
> IFS='
> '
> for c in `cat $HOME/client_project.txt`
> do
> NAME=`echo $c |cut -d"|" -f1`
> # Send load file info to SQL file for troubleshooting, then update the
> database with the new Client Project Values
> echo "psql -A -c \"insert into customfieldvalues
> (customfield,name,creator,created) values ('1','$c','22',now())\" -h
> $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB" >>$HOME/client_project.sql
> psql -A -c "insert into customfieldvalues
> (customfield,name,creator,created) values ('1','$c','22',now())" -h
> $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB
> 
> #Increment sequence file for sorting in the Web GUI
> sequence=`tail -n1 $HOME/sequence.tmp`
> SEQUENCE=`expr $sequence + 5`
> CLEANNAME=`echo $NAME |sed -e 's/\[/\|/g; s/\]//g'`
> 
> # Using the formatted Client/Project codes, loop through the loadfile and
> capture Task codes for each Client/Project code
> OIFS=$IFS
> IFS='
> '
> for task in `cat $LOADFILE|grep $CLEANNAME`
> do
> TASK=`echo $task|cut -d"|" -f3`
> CODE=`echo $task|cut -d"|" -f4`
> CLIENT=`echo $task|cut -d"|" -f1`
> PROJECT=`echo $task|cut -d"|" -f2`
> CLIENTPROJECT="${CLIENT}[${PROJECT}]"
> TASKCODE="${TASK}[${CODE}]"
> echo "psql -A -c \"insert into customfieldvalues
> (customfield,name,creator,created,category,sortorder) values
> ('2','$TASKCODE','22',now(),'$CLIENTPROJECT','$SEQUENCE')\" -h $PGSERVER -U
> $PGUSER $PGDB" >>$HOME/task_code.sql
> psql -A -c "insert into customfieldvalues
> (customfield,name,creator,created,category,sortorder) values
> ('2','$TASKCODE','22',now(),'$CLIENTPROJECT','$SEQUENCE')" -h $PGSERVER -U
> $PGUSER $PGDB
> echo $SEQUENCE >$HOME/sequence.tmp
> done
> done
> psql -A -c "delete from customfieldvalues where name='Tasks are being
> updated. Refresh in 2-5 minutes'" -h $PGSERVER -U $PGUSER $PGDB
> echo "Complete" >>$LOGFILE
> else
> echo "No Changes">>$LOGFILE
> fi
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <http://lists.bestpractical.com/pipermail/rt-users/attachments/20130814/75815045/attachment-0001.html>
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 2
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 08:19:38 -0400
> From: "Cena, Stephen \(ext. 300\)" <SJC at qvii.com>
> To: <rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com>
> Subject: Re: [rt-users] MySQL issue - Windows vs. Linux - Table name
> Message-ID:
> 	<4DD6AB329450D847913EA76D7F3C6B8312F7F634 at valkyrie.ogp.qvii.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain;	charset="us-ascii"
> 
> Maciek - I figured it was more a MySQL issue than an RT one. I manually
> went in & changed each table to the correct one (users to Users) and
> that appeared to work. However, this won't fix my problem if I have to
> move several databases over (we have a lot of MySQL dependant apps
> here). Thank you for the link. I'll take a look at it today & see if it
> will help. I'm just glad to know it's a MySQL issue and not an RT one!
> 
> Steve
> 
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 3
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 10:33:03 -0400
> From: Kevin Falcone <falcone at bestpractical.com>
> To: rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> Subject: Re: [rt-users] RT-at-a-Glance Saved Searches not showing RT
> 	System searches
> Message-ID: <20130814143303.GI2007 at jibsheet.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
> 
> Joe - it helps if you trim the rest of the digest when replying.
> 
> On Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 12:43:08PM -0400, Joe Kirby wrote:
>>> 
>>>    I would like to know how to make RT System Searches show when the Saved Searches is added to
>>>    RT-at-a-Glance.
>>> 
>>>    This is a great feature for My Closed Tickets type reports that are really not needed on the
>>>    page as its own.
>>> 
>>>    At this time it seems like only SuperUser gets these.
>>> 
>>>    Is there a setting that would allow this?
>>> 
>>>    Thanks in advance
>> 
>>   Usually when I do not hear back on a topic it means that it is either not clear what I am
>>   asking for or it is a stupid question.
>>   I have looked back through the wiki again with no luck on how to have RT System Searches
>>   available to the delivered Saved Search.
>>   The reports saved as RT System Searches are available to be placed on the RT-at-a-Glance but
>>   do not show up in the Saved Search option.
>>   I am trying to avoid having to generate many copies of a system wide report so it shows up in
>>   folks Saved Search collection.
>>   At the risk of being an annoyance I am reporting
>>   Thanks in advance
> 
> RT System Searches don't automatically show up for all users unless
> their name is in a specific format (compare with the system default
> searches we ship).  I consider this an oversight, and it'll probably
> be fixed in a future release.  At this time, your best solution is
> finding the widest group you can and assigning the search to that
> group.
> 
> -kevin
> -------------- next part --------------
> A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> Name: not available
> Type: application/pgp-signature
> Size: 235 bytes
> Desc: not available
> URL: <http://lists.bestpractical.com/pipermail/rt-users/attachments/20130814/867e8268/attachment-0001.pgp>
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 4
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 10:35:25 -0400
> From: Kevin Falcone <falcone at bestpractical.com>
> To: rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> Subject: Re: [rt-users] sendmailpipe returns EX_TEMPFAIL
> Message-ID: <20130814143525.GJ2007 at jibsheet.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
> 
> On Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 10:55:57AM +0200, Nathan Cutler wrote:
>>> Does anyone have any other ideas for debugging this issue? Especially
>>> I am interested in how I could confirm or deny that it's related to
>>> mod_perl "cohabitation" -- i.e. two different Perl applications in a
>>> single mod_perl host?
>> 
>> I noticed that when I don't have "PerlOptions +Parent" in the apache
>> config, the Perl library search order on the System Configuration page
>> is different than when I do. Here's what it looks like _without_
>> PerlOptions +Parent (omitting the line numbers which do not
>> copy-paste):
>> 
>> Perl library search order
>> 
>>    /usr/share/request-tracker/local/lib
>>    /usr/share/request-tracker/local/plugins/RT-Extension-MergeUsers/lib
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi
>>    /srv/www/perl-lib
>>    /srv/www/vhosts/pdb/
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0
>>    .
>>    /srv/www
>> 
>> Notice lines 5 and 6 which obviously come from the other mod_perl application.
>> 
>> Now, here's what it says _with_ PerlOptions +Parent:
>> 
>> Perl library search order
>> 
>>    /usr/share/request-tracker/local/lib
>>    /usr/share/request-tracker/local/plugins/RT-Extension-MergeUsers/lib
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi
>>    /usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0
>>    .
>>    /srv/www
>> 
>> So maybe the problem is solved? I did have PerlOptions +Parent in the
>> apache configuration before, but maybe not correctly? I checked the
>> other application's vhosts file and it _does_ have PerlOptions
>> +Parent.
> 
> While PerlOptions +Parent is important if you need to run two mod_perl
> apps, you should keep your log in place, and possibly dig up one of
> the shims from the mailing list archives that has been used to debug
> this.
> 
> In the past, it was bugs in mod_perl and the handler type, but it's
> nearly impossible to debug from the standard RT debug and mail logs.
> 
> -kevin
> -------------- next part --------------
> A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> Name: not available
> Type: application/pgp-signature
> Size: 235 bytes
> Desc: not available
> URL: <http://lists.bestpractical.com/pipermail/rt-users/attachments/20130814/277df552/attachment-0001.pgp>
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 5
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 10:36:17 -0400
> From: Kevin Falcone <falcone at bestpractical.com>
> To: rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> Subject: Re: [rt-users] Re-send a previously attached attachment?
> Message-ID: <20130814143617.GK2007 at jibsheet.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
> 
> On Tue, Aug 13, 2013 at 09:49:54PM +0000, Beachey, Kendric wrote:
>> 
>>> -----Original Message-----
>>> From: rt-users-bounces at lists.bestpractical.com [mailto:rt-users-bounces at lists.bestpractical.com] On Behalf Of Boli
>>> Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2013 3:36 PM
>>> To: RT users
>>> Subject: [rt-users] Re-send a previously attached attachment?
>>> 
>>> Hi All,
>>> 
>>> Apologies if I have missed something obvious.
>>> 
>>> How can I re-send an attachment that has previously been attached to a ticket without downloading it and re-attaching it.
>>> 
>>> For example, if a new requestor or CC is added to a ticket, and I want to get them up to date quickly by referring to previously discussed/attached information.
>>> 
>>> Comments/Suggestions welcomed
>>> 
>>> Regards,
>> 
>> Point them to the web view of the ticket?  The attachment should be there in the ticket history, so they can download/view it at their leisure.
>> 
>> (assuming you don't have a security policy that would prevent this)
> 
> The alternate (attaching a previously attached attachment to a new
> reply) is something we've explored in a few branches with clients, but
> nothing we've written has stuck or been right for mainstream release.
> 
> -kevin
> -------------- next part --------------
> A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
> Name: not available
> Type: application/pgp-signature
> Size: 235 bytes
> Desc: not available
> URL: <http://lists.bestpractical.com/pipermail/rt-users/attachments/20130814/4ce32213/attachment-0001.pgp>
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 6
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 08:19:14 -0700
> From: Thomas Sibley <trs at bestpractical.com>
> To: rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> Subject: Re: [rt-users] sendmailpipe returns EX_TEMPFAIL
> Message-ID: <520B9FF2.7080903 at bestpractical.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8
> 
> On 08/14/2013 07:35 AM, Kevin Falcone wrote:
>>> So maybe the problem is solved? I did have PerlOptions +Parent in the
>>> apache configuration before, but maybe not correctly? I checked the
>>> other application's vhosts file and it _does_ have PerlOptions
>>> +Parent.
>> 
>> While PerlOptions +Parent is important if you need to run two mod_perl
>> apps, you should keep your log in place, and possibly dig up one of
>> the shims from the mailing list archives that has been used to debug
>> this.
>> 
>> In the past, it was bugs in mod_perl and the handler type, but it's
>> nearly impossible to debug from the standard RT debug and mail logs.
> 
> Adding on to what Kevin said...
> 
> You could also just save yourself some time and switch to a different
> deployment option for RT.  Running it under mod_fastcgi or mod_fcgid is
> simple and would avoid any mod_perl bugs with +Parent.  Why fight with
> mod_perl?
> 
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 7
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 10:42:46 -0500
> From: "Donny Brooks" <dbrooks at mdah.state.ms.us>
> To: rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> Subject: [rt-users] Groups in LDAP
> Message-ID: <7597-520ba580-5-2262d0c0 at 25267501>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="utf-8"
> 
> I have successfully setup RT4.0.17 on a CentOS 6.4 machine with RT::Authen::ExternalAuth to authenticate against our OpenLDAP. My question is, can I have certain groups in LDAP that are automatically privileged in RT? Like setup a helpdesk group and everyone in there are automatically set with the proper abilities.
> -- 
> 
> Donny B.
> 
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> Message: 8
> Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 15:47:52 +0000
> From: Lisa Tomalty <ltomalty at uwaterloo.ca>
> To: "rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com"
> 	<rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com>
> Subject: [rt-users] RT4 and GIT; RT4 and Eclipse
> Message-ID: <360FA71407D1624082F4F84DBACABD541220677C at connmbx5>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
> 
> 
> 1) Re: GIT <-> RT4 integration:
> ---Does anyone know of a way to tie a "commit" (in GIT) to a ticket in RT4, by putting an RT ticket # in the commit (and, ideally, back to the code)?
> 
> 2) Does anyone know of a way to connect Eclipse and RT4 (mylin used to do this with an older version of RT)?
> 
> Thanks!
> Lisa :)
> 
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Lisa Tomalty
> Information Systems & Technology/Arts Computing Office
> 
> MC 2052/PAS 2023
> University of Waterloo
> Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
> MC2025/PAS1083
> (519) 888-4567 X35873
> ltomalty at uwaterloo.ca<mailto:ltomalty at uwaterloo.ca>
> 
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
> URL: <http://lists.bestpractical.com/pipermail/rt-users/attachments/20130814/2f54ba02/attachment-0001.html>
> 
> ------------------------------
> 
> --------
> rt-users mailing list
> rt-users at lists.bestpractical.com
> http://lists.bestpractical.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/rt-users
> 
> 
> 
> End of rt-users Digest, Vol 113, Issue 20
> *****************************************

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.bestpractical.com/pipermail/rt-users/attachments/20130814/0faeb8ef/attachment.htm>


More information about the rt-users mailing list